Pottermore : Wands and Houses

What is Pottermore?

” Pottermore is a unique online experience from J.K. Rowling, built around the Harry Potter books. ” (read more here)

No, really, what is it?

In my own words: Pottermore lets you stalk Harry Potter and live out any HP fans’ dream which is to actually be a part of his world.

Sounds creepy and weird…

Yes, yes it does. But my favorite book is Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking-glass (not the Disney stories), so that should tell you something about my preference. Honestly though, Pottermore is part-book and part-game. The game aspect is integrated into the reading aspect.

Should I sign up?

If you are a Harry Potter fan (whether it’s the book or the film), then absolutely YES. Pottermore is an official J.K. Rowling creation, not some website that’s ripping off her work.

If you are not a Harry Potter fan BUT you like fantasy and interactive games, then YES. Pottermore is like an interactive e-book that combines learning and fun… I think this is what they call “edutainment” (education + entertainment).

If you hate Harry Potter, why are you even reading this? Try it out of curiosity but don’t come back here to rant about how “horrible” it is because that’s so cliche.

What are the requirements? Do I have to pay for anything?

1. Keep in mind that Pottermore is in Beta phase. There will be some bugs but personally, I have never encountered any problems whenever I use it.

2. You need Flash Player 5 and a decent browser to use it. And by “decent” I meant “not Internet Explorer”. That’s about it. I use Chrome to play Pottermore.

3. It is absolutely FREE. Even signing up for their email notifications is optional.

How can I sign up then?

1. Go to the website itself: http://www.pottermore.com

2. It’s the standard sign-up process. Except for the username, which is randomly generated to protect your identity. Just pick one that you like best.

** You might have to wait a while for the verification email to arrive, depending on traffic. It took two hours for the email to arrive in my account but when my sister signed up, she received the email almost instantaneously.

3. You will receive two emails: the Verification email and the Welcoming one. Click the Verification Email. I don’t know what the second one is for … aside from welcoming you, of course.

4. Done! Go to your Gateway by clicking “Explore Pottermore” or the Pottermore sign (top center).

— WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD —

What’s going on there?

At the moment, the only available section is Book 1 (The Philosopher’s Stone) which is the first book in the Harry Potter series. It is, despite being short, highly-interactive because it marked Harry’s beginnings in Hogwarts. Just like Harry, you’ll be able to shop at Diagon Alley, acquire your own wand, ride the Hogwarts train to the school, be sorted into one of the four Houses, brew a potion and duel with other wizards.

Tips and Reminders:

  • Everyone starts out with 500 Galleons in Gringotts Bank. Don’t use it up for junk because the only way to obtain more Galleons at the moment is by reading the Book, and when that’s done, it’s done. No more Galleons to find until Book 2 is released in the future.
  • Answer all questions truthfully. This is your chance to live your “what-if” … “what if Harry’s world was real and I went to that school too?” – this is your chance for that. There are keypoints in the story that ask a series of questions: acquiring a Wand and getting sorted into a House. So what if you don’t get a phoenix-core holly wand? I mean, do you really want to be Harry Potter? What’s the point of lying to yourself just to be someone else? So what if you got sorted into Hufflepuff? Identity crisis much? You don’t know your own self, so you want to be a Snake even though you are clearly a Badger?
  • Click everywhere! And click everything, the screen won’t bite you anyway. Collect things, it’s part of the fun and you can use some of those items for brewing and spellcasting.
  • Make friends. Even if it’s just to practice dueling, allies are always necessary somewhat.

— HeartThorn3957 —

That is my Pottermore username. I am in Gryffindor which I did not expect at all. I was 90% sure that I was going to Ravenclaw, I don’t know why I was sorted into Gryffindor! My wand is 12 and 3/4 inches, made of English Oak (Merlin’s wand wood) with Dragon Heartstring core (poor dragons!), and Ryuu-chan (I gave it a nickname) is surprisingly swishy. Oh, and my pet is a black cat.

Comments are closed.

